MLB

#50
Charlie Morton
ERA W-L K
2.54 5-0 77
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 11/12/1983 Birthplace: Flemington, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2002)


Latest News
May 25 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 5-0, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-2 on Saturday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 19 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed five runs - three earned - on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 13-5 on Sunday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 4-0, allowing three hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Tuesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.32 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 8 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST3:53 PM CST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.64 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Thursday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 3-0, allowing two hits and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Saturday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:26 PM PT7:26 PM MT8:26 PM CT9:26 PM ET21:26 ET1:26 GMT9:26 6:26 PM MST8:26 PM EST7:26 PM CST8:56 PM VEN5:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed five runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Saturday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Sunday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST4:09 PM CST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-5 on Tuesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Wednesday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 4-2 on Friday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Atl 4 8 0 - 0 16 15 0 74.2 80 56 51 9 41 2 48 1.62 6.15
2009 Pit 5 9 0 - 0 18 18 1 97.0 102 49 49 7 40 0 62 1.46 4.55
2010 Pit 2 12 0 - 0 17 17 0 79.2 112 79 67 15 26 3 59 1.73 7.57
2011 Pit 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 171.2 186 82 73 6 77 5 110 1.53 3.83
2012 Pit 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 50.1 62 30 26 5 11 1 25 1.45 4.65
2013 Pit 7 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.0 113 51 42 6 36 1 85 1.28 3.26
2014 Pit 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 157.1 143 76 65 9 57 2 126 1.27 3.72
2015 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 129.0 137 77 69 13 41 6 96 1.38 4.81
2016 Phi 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.1 15 8 8 1 8 0 19 1.33 4.15
2017 Hou 14 7 0 - 0 25 25 0 146.2 125 65 59 14 50 1 163 1.19 3.62
2018 Hou 15 3 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.0 130 63 58 18 64 0 201 1.16 3.13
2019 TB 5 0 0 - 0 11 11 0 60.1 43 19 17 4 27 0 77 1.16 2.54
Career 80 81 0 - 0 228 227 3 1267.0 1248 655 584 107 478 21 1071 1.36 4.15

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Atl 16 17 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 1 .059 .059 .118
2009 Pit 18 31 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .129 .129 .129
2010 Pit 17 26 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .038 .038 .038
2011 Pit 29 50 0 4 3 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .080 .094 .140
2012 Pit 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 20 36 1 5 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .139 .139 .139
2014 Pit 26 40 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 21 0 0 .050 .073 .050
2015 Pit 23 36 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 18 0 0 .028 .054 .028
2016 Phi 4 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Hou 25 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Hou 30 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2019 TB 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 228 266 4 20 4 0 0 6 3 139 0 1 .075 .085 .090

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
2017 Hou Total 2 1 0 - 0 5 4 0 23.1 20 11 11 2 6 0 25 4.24
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 2 2 1 2 0 6 4.15
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 8 7 7 1 3 0 8 7.27
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.1 5 2 2 0 1 0 11 1.74
2018 Hou Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
Career 2 2 0 - 0 7 6 0 31.1 26 16 16 3 12 0 31 4.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Hou Total 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 7 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 487 98 91 94.3 47.7
Curveball 373 82 75 78.4 36.53
Changeup 43 87 82 84.9 4.21
Cut Fastball 118 89 82 85.6 11.56


@STATS_Insights