MLB

#34
Jon Lester
ERA W-L K
3.74 9-6 99
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240
Position: SPBorn: 1/7/1984 Birthplace: Tacoma, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Red Sox (2002)


Latest News
July 13 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 9-6, allowing three runs on eight hits in 6.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-4 on Saturday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 8-6, allowing three runs - one earned - on six hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Saturday. Lester struck out three, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 7-6, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-6 on Sunday. Lester struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 24 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 7-5, allowing two runs - zero earned - on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-3 on Monday. Lester struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 6-5, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Wednesday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 14 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-Jon Lester fell to 5-5, allowing six runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-3 on Thursday. Lester struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 5-4, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 9-4 on Saturday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 3 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 4-4, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-1 on Monday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 28 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 3-4, allowing seven runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Houston Astros 9-6 on Tuesday. Lester struck out three, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 23 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 3-3, allowing seven runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 9-7 on Thursday. Lester struck out five, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 3-2, allowing five runs on 10 hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 5-2 on Saturday. Lester struck out three, ending the game with a 2.09 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 3-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on nine hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Sunday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 1.16 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 7 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Jon Lester allowed two runs - zero earned - on eight hits in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Tuesday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 1.41 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 1 6:24 PM PT7:24 PM MT8:24 PM CT9:24 PM ET21:24 ET1:24 GMT9:24 6:24 PM MST8:24 PM EST7:24 PM CST8:54 PM VEN5:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 2-1, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Seattle Mariners 11-0 on Wednesday. Lester struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.73 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 1-1, allowing one run on four hits in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Thursday. Lester struck out five, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 12:57 PM PT1:57 PM MT2:57 PM CT3:57 PM ET15:57 ET19:57 GMT3:57 12:57 PM MST2:57 PM EST1:57 PM CST3:27 PM VEN23:57 UAE2:57 PM CT-Lester (hamstring) will come off the injured list and start Thursday against the Dodgers.
Analysis: Manager Joe Maddon said Lester will be limited to about 75-80 pitches in his first outing since April 8, when he was hurt running the bases in the Cubs' home opener against Pittsburgh. Lester is 1-0 with a 2.57 ERA in three starts.
Apr. 3 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Jon Lester allowed two runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Wednesday. Lester struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Texas Rangers 12-4 on Thursday. Lester struck out three, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Bos 7 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 81.1 91 43 43 7 43 1 60 1.65 4.76
2007 Bos 4 0 0 - 0 12 11 0 63.0 61 33 32 10 31 0 50 1.46 4.57
2008 Bos 16 6 0 - 0 33 33 2 210.1 202 78 75 14 66 1 152 1.27 3.21
2009 Bos 15 8 0 - 0 32 32 2 203.1 186 80 77 20 64 0 225 1.23 3.41
2010 Bos 19 9 0 - 0 32 32 2 208.0 167 81 75 14 83 0 225 1.20 3.25
2011 Bos 15 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.2 166 77 74 20 75 0 182 1.26 3.47
2012 Bos 9 14 0 - 0 33 33 3 205.1 216 117 110 25 68 2 166 1.38 4.82
2013 Bos 15 8 0 - 0 33 33 1 213.1 209 94 89 19 67 0 177 1.29 3.75
2014 Bos 10 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 143.0 128 52 40 9 32 0 149 1.12 2.52
2014 Oak 6 4 0 - 0 11 11 1 76.2 66 24 20 7 16 0 71 1.07 2.35
2014 Tot 16 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 219.2 194 76 60 16 48 0 220 1.10 2.46
2015 ChC 11 12 0 - 0 32 32 1 205.0 183 83 76 16 47 0 207 1.12 3.34
2016 ChC 19 5 0 - 0 32 32 2 202.2 154 57 55 21 52 0 197 1.02 2.44
2017 ChC 13 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 180.2 179 101 87 26 60 3 180 1.32 4.33
2018 ChC 18 6 0 - 0 32 32 0 181.2 174 75 67 24 64 1 149 1.31 3.32
2019 ChC 9 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 101.0 109 53 42 17 23 0 99 1.31 3.74
Career 186 104 0 - 0 399 398 15 2467.0 2291 1048 962 249 791 8 2289 1.25 3.51

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Bos 15 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Bos 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Bos 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Bos 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2011 Bos 31 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Bos 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bos 33 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 21 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Oak 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 32 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 ChC 32 62 6 4 0 0 0 0 3 30 0 0 .065 .108 .065
2016 ChC 33 59 3 6 3 0 0 6 6 18 0 0 .102 .185 .153
2017 ChC 32 54 5 8 3 0 1 6 4 26 1 0 .148 .203 .259
2018 ChC 34 59 4 7 0 0 1 9 0 22 0 0 .119 .119 .169
2019 ChC 19 24 4 6 1 0 1 5 4 12 0 0 .250 .357 .417
Career 403 294 22 31 7 0 3 27 18 130 1 0 .105 .156 .160

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2007 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 9.1 6 2 2 1 4 0 8 1.93
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.2 3 2 2 1 1 0 5 4.91
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 3 0.00
2008 Bos Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.2 24 9 7 3 5 0 26 2.36
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 10 1 0 0 3 0 11 0.00
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 14 8 7 3 2 0 15 4.97
2009 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 3 3 1 4 0 5 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 3 3 1 4 0 5 4.50
2013 Bos Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 34.2 25 6 6 3 8 0 29 1.56
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.2 3 2 2 2 3 0 7 2.35
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.2 13 3 3 0 4 0 7 2.31
    WS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 15.1 9 1 1 1 1 0 15 0.59
2014 Oak Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 8 6 6 0 2 0 5 7.36
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 8 6 6 0 2 0 5 7.36
2015 ChC Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 13 7 7 3 2 0 14 4.30
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 5 3 3 1 1 0 9 3.68
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 8 4 4 2 1 0 5 5.40
2016 ChC Total 3 1 0 - 0 6 5 0 35.2 27 9 8 3 6 0 30 2.02
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.0 5 0 0 0 0 0 5 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 9 2 2 1 2 0 9 1.38
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 3 2 0 14.2 13 7 6 2 4 0 16 3.68
2017 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 2 0 14.1 6 3 3 1 8 0 7 1.88
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 3 2 2 1 3 0 5 1.86
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 3 1 1 0 5 0 2 1.93
2018 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 1 1 0 1 0 9 1.50
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 1 1 0 1 0 9 1.50
Career 9 7 0 - 0 26 22 0 154.0 117 46 43 15 40 0 133 2.51

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Bos Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bos Total 5 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 ChC Total 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 ChC Total 6 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .000 .222 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .000 .400 .000
    WS 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC Total 3 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2018 ChC Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 26 21 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 11 0 0 .048 .130 .048


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 687 93 86 90.4 38.88
Curveball 252 79 70 74.9 14.26
Changeup 194 88 81 84.6 10.98
Cut Fastball 634 91 84 87.9 35.88


@STATS_Insights