MLB

#39
Edwin Díaz
ERA S K
2.77 27 64
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-3 / 165
Position: RPBorn: 3/22/1994 Birthplace: Humacao, Puerto Rico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Mariners (2012)


Latest News
June 23 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Edwin Diaz allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-2 on Saturday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
June 16 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 27th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 1-0 on Saturday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 26th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-6 on Friday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
June 13 10:17 PM PT11:17 PM MT12:17 AM CT1:17 AM ET1:17 ET5:17 GMT13:17 10:17 PM MST12:17 AM EST11:17 PM CST12:47 AM VEN9:17 UAE12:17 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 25th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-3 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
June 12 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 24th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-3 on Monday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 23rd save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Sunday. Diaz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 22nd save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.1 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Friday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 21st save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Sunday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
June 3 10:17 PM PT11:17 PM MT12:17 AM CT1:17 AM ET1:17 ET5:17 GMT13:17 10:17 PM MST12:17 AM EST11:17 PM CST12:47 AM VEN9:17 UAE12:17 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 20th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Saturday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.93 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
June 2 11:32 PM PT12:32 AM MT1:32 AM CT2:32 AM ET2:32 ET6:32 GMT14:32 11:32 PM MST1:32 AM EST12:32 AM CST2:02 AM VEN10:32 UAE1:32 AM CT-Edwin Diaz blew his third save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Friday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 30 10:54 PM PT11:54 PM MT12:54 AM CT1:54 AM ET1:54 ET5:54 GMT13:54 10:54 PM MST12:54 AM EST11:54 PM CST1:24 AM VEN9:54 UAE12:54 AM CT-Edwin Diaz fell to 0-2, allowing four runs on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Texas Rangers 9-5 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
May 28 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 19th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Monday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 27 10:54 PM PT11:54 PM MT12:54 AM CT1:54 AM ET1:54 ET5:54 GMT13:54 10:54 PM MST12:54 AM EST11:54 PM CST1:24 AM VEN9:54 UAE12:54 AM CT-Edwin Diaz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Saturday. Diaz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.65 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
May 26 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 18th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Minnesota Twins 2-1 on Friday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.71 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
May 24 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 17th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Wednesday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 1.78 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 23 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 16th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 1.85 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 20 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST5:37 PM CST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Edwin Diaz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Sunday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
May 19 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Friday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.01 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
May 16 11:39 PM PT12:39 AM MT1:39 AM CT2:39 AM ET2:39 ET6:39 GMT14:39 11:39 PM MST1:39 AM EST12:39 AM CST2:09 AM VEN10:39 UAE1:39 AM CT-Edwin Diaz blew his second save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 9-8 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.11 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 14th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Minnesota Twins 1-0 on Monday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 1.77 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 10 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Edwin Diaz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 9-3 on Thursday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
May 6 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Edwin Diaz blew his first save, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-8 on Saturday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Thursday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.04 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 3 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST10:39 PM CST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Edwin Diaz fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Wednesday. Diaz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.10 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Diaz had allowed just one earned run in 15 appearances this season.
May 2 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST11:21 PM CST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-3 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.59 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Edwin Diaz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 10-4 on Sunday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.63 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST6:59 PM CST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Thursday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.68 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Wednesday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.73 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST6:08 PM CST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Chicago White Sox 1-0 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.79 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his eighth save, allowing one run on one hit and three walks in 1.1 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 9-7 on Saturday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Edwin Diaz walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Friday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.44 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Monday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 10-8 on Saturday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST11:23 PM CST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE12:23 AM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-4 on Friday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Wednesday. Diaz struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Edwin Diaz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-3 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST5:51 PM CST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)6:51 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-4 on Tuesday. Diaz struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Sunday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Edwin Diaz recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Thursday. Diaz struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Sea 0 4 18 - 21 49 0 0 51.2 45 16 16 5 15 2 88 1.16 2.79
2017 Sea 4 6 34 - 39 66 0 0 66.0 44 28 24 10 32 2 89 1.15 3.27
2018 Sea 0 2 27 - 30 39 0 0 39.0 23 12 12 2 13 0 64 0.92 2.77
Career 4 12 79 - 90 154 0 0 156.2 112 56 52 17 60 4 241 1.10 2.99

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Sea 49 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Sea 66 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 154 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 400 100 92 97.4 60.24
Slider 262 92 86 89 39.46
Changeup 2 95 94 94.5 .3


@STATS_Insights